Keep on rolling

4 Nov

There I was in the sunny, stunning city of Alicante at a cafe taking in the mid-morning bustle of cars and pedestrians, the waitresses weaving between the tightly packed tables and chairs holding aloft trays of refreshments at a pace worthy of an Olympic event, when out of the corner of my eye I spotted a group of people – young and old, male and female – roller blading down the paseo. Some clinging on to each other, others confidently striding ahead.

That, I decided, looks like fun.

Fast-forward two weeks.  Last Sunday, my husband and I, in our efforts to get fit while we’re away from home, were pacing up the winding, steep hill to Mojacar town and thought we’d take a break to browse the weekly flea market. And there they were. My size 6, orthopaedic looking, red and grey roller blades just waiting for me.  I can’t remember a better spent 12 Euros.  I’ve used them every day, it really is good fun and roller blading’s not half as heavy on your knees as running (which I’ve tried and failed at).

A few years ago I’d be mortified at being outdoors – where people might see me – ON ROLLER BLADES. Are you kidding?  At my age? I have, however, been utterly inspired by the ‘Fashionistas’ programme on telly recently about a group of wonderful women in their 70s and 80s all exuding fabulousness – doing the splits, teaching dance lessons, wearing ‘young clothes’ and working in Gap.  I’m approaching 40 and I know that’s nowhere near 80 (!) but any landmark age makes you think about where you are in your life and what you’re doing with it.  And I’m learning that you really have to do what makes you happy, live your life, keep as well as you can and remember Morrissey’s wise words “shyness is nice but shyness can stop you from doing all the things in life you’d like to”.  

So I’m sticking my neck out, being brave and doing the things I’ve always wanted. Do give me a wave (and a laugh if you want) if you see me attempting to roller-blade down the paseo!

Photos below are of Alicante.

20131107-122659.jpg

20131107-122711.jpg

20131107-122646.jpg

2 Responses to “Keep on rolling”

  1. 2sundowners 07/11/2013 at 1:37 pm #

    I saw that programme about the older women ‘growing old disgracefully’ thought it was brilliant. They were a real inspiration especially for women of my age!……..loved your
    blog!!

    • betulastone 08/11/2013 at 10:25 am #

      Thank you so much; yes they were fantastic for all ages.

      Best wishes

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Sims Hill Shared Harvest

Community Supported Agriculture for Bristol

The Friendly Fig

a veg-friendly space for happy, healthy humans

Pauper to Princess

Confessions of a charity shop addict

social for the people

government social media training

Model For {Change

Creating a positive change.

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Cpl Kerkman Reference Guide

A collection of philosophical writings and awesome poems written with my Marines in Mind.

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Tomboy Travels

Suit & heels by day, spandex & sneakers by night

Earthniversity

Know earth, know life.

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

CREATIVE CONCEPT INC

CREATING CONCEPTS IN ART, DESIGN, STYLE & BEYOND

www.PoshPedlar.com

Purveyors of Bijouterie, and Beautiful Bits and Bobs.

